Vol. III. Ch. 31.

CHAPTER 31 Sessions Divisions.

1. Under section 7 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the Punjab State is divided into Sessions Divisions; and each Division is either a district itself or consists of districts. The limits of the districts are fixed by the State Government and in the Punjab they follow the boundaries of the ordinary revenue districts except in territories which immediately before the 1st of November, 1956, comprised PEPSU State. The limits of the Divisions are also fixed by the State Government. The number of districts and divisions is fixed by the State Government.

2. The number of Sessions Divisions at present fixed for Punjab is 15, as shown in the attached list. The constitution of each division is shown in the second column of the list. No entry in this column is to be taken as fixing under section 9(2) of the Code, the place at which the Court of Sessions ordinarily to hold its sitting. The place of sitting is dealt with in paragraph 3 below.

Number of Divisions.

Limits.

No.	Sessions Division		District
1.	Hissar	• • •	Hissar,
2.	Karnal		Karnal.
3.	Rohtak		1. Rohtak.
		•••	2. Gurgaon.
4.	Ferozepore		Ferozepore.
5.	Ambala	• • •	1 Ambala
			2 Shimla.
6.	Ludhiana		Ludhiana.
	Jullundur		Jullundur.
8.	Hoshiarpur.	•••	1 Hoshiarpur.
_			2 Kangra.
9.	Gurdaspur	• • •	Gurdaspur
	Amritsar	• • •	Amritsar
11.	Patiala	• • •	1 Patiala.
			2 Kandaghat
12.	Bhatinda	• • •	Bhatinda.
13.	Sangrur		1 Sangrur.
			2 Mohendragarh
14.	Barnala	•••	Barnala
15.	Kapurthala	•••	 Kapurthala
			1. Fatehgarh Sahib

Vol. III. 2 Ch. 31.

Place of trial.

Additional Sessions Judge. 3. Ordinarily the trial of a Sessions case should take place at the headquarters of the district from which committed; but if in any particular case the court of Sessions is of the opinion that it will tend to the convenience of the parties and witnesses to hold its sittings at any other place in the Sessions division, it may with the consent of the parties sit at that place for the disposal of the case or the examination of the witness(es).

4. In exercise of powers conferred by sub-section (4) of section 9 and sub-section (2) of section 193 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, the State Government has been pleased to appoint the Sessions Judges and Additional Sessions Judges entered in the first column of the schedule hereto appended, to be, by virtue of their offices Additional Sessions Judges of the divisions, respectively entered opposite to them in the second column of the said schedule and of direct that for the disposal of cases every such Additional Sessions Judge may it at the headquarters of either or any such division and that every such Additional Sessions Judge shall have the power to try all cases triable by the Sessions Judge of the division which he is an Additional Sessions Judge.

SCHEDULE

SCHEDULE				
	Divisions of which the Sessions Judge			
	and Additional Sessions Judges			
Sessions Judges	entered in the first column are ex			
	officio Additional sessions Judges			
1	2			
1. Sessions Judge, Hissar	Karnal, Ambala, Delhi,			
	Rohtak, Sangrur,			
	Ferozepur.			
2. Sessions Judge, Karnal	Ludhiana, Ambala, Delhi,			
_	Rohtak, Hissar.			
3. Sessions Judge, Ferozepur	Ludhiana, Amritsar,			
	Hissar, Bhatinda, Karnal			
4. Sessions Judge, Ambala	Karnal, Ludhiana, Patiala,			
_	Hissar.			
5. Sessions Judge, Ludhiana	Ferozepur, Hoshiarpur,			
	Ambala, Amritsar,			
	Jullundur, Barnala.			
6. Sessions Judge, Jullundur	Hoshiarpur, Amritsar,			
	Ludhiana, Kapurthala.			

SCHEDULE

	Sessions Judges	Divisions of which the Sessions Judge and Additional Sessions Judges entered in the first column are <i>ex officio</i> Additional sessions Judges
	1	2
7	Sessions Judge, Hoshiarpur	Jullundur, Amritsar, Ludhiana
8	Sessions Judge, Gurdaspur	Amritsar, Hoshiarpur, Jullundur
9	Sessions Judge, Amritsar	Gurdaspur,Jullundur
10	Sessions Judge, Delhi	Hissar, Karnal
11	Sessions Judge, Rohtak	Sangrur, Delhi.
12	Sessions Judge, Barnala	Ludhiana, Bhatinda, Sangrur
13	Sessions Judge, Bhatinda	Ferozepur, Barnala, Kapurthala.
14	Sessions Judge, Kapurthala	Jullundur, Ludhiana, Hoshiarpur, Ferozepur, Gurdaspur, Patiala.
15	Sessions Judge, Patiala	Ambala, Hissar, Karnal, Kapurthala, Sangrur, Barnala.
16	Sessions Judge, Sangrur	Hissar, Rohtak, Patiala, Barnala
17	Additional Sessions Judge, Ferozepur	Jullundur, Ludhiana, Hoshiarpur, Ambala, Hissar, Amritsar, Karnal, Bhatinda.
18	Additional Sessions Judge, Ambala	Patiala, Ludhiana, Karnal, Hoshiarpur, Hissar.
19	Additional Sessions Judge	Jullundur, Gurdaspur.
20	Additional Sessions Judge, Bhatinda at Faridkot	Barnala, Sangrur, Patiala.